Pedestrian Run-ins

The local Pensacola Police Department recently posted a social media blurb about pedestrian safety for locals who frequent downtown streets.

I’ll NEVER forget my “run-in” with a pedestrian on Cervantes Street. About 10 years ago, I was cruising down Cervantes to prayer team meeting at Brownsville before youth group started, minding my own business and trying to calm down after a busy day teaching. I didn’t have my doors locked, but I should have. My Bible was on my passenger side where I’d flung it in my haste to get there on time.

So I am first at the red light right there at the viaduct, sitting there next to a slick black Mustang. Light turns green, and I pull out and up; I’m in the inner lane. I get right in front of Addie’s House of flowers (now R & S Crafts and Florist) when…

WHAM!

A pedestrian runs in front of my car. She hits my front bumper, hood, and moon roof and flies…to my horror…up into the air behind me to fall spread eagle on the street.

I thought or said aloud (don’t remember which), “Jesus, I’ve killed someone!”

You should have seen the 40 cars behind me scatter like ants. Poof…gone. I check windows to see if anyone is around…lady in the stang is still there in the outer lane, but nobody else is behind us anymore.

I see flip flops on the street right in front of my hood. I grab my phone and tap 911. It asks me if I am sure I want to dial 911. I hit yes 5 times but no luck.

I look behind me on the street and blink hard. She’s getting up, running to my car, opening my passenger door. Hops in, sitting right on my Bible, and yells at me, “Just take me home! Just take me home!”

I pop my keys out f the ignition, grab my purse from the floorboard, and jump out of the car into the clear median faster than I can think. A few seconds later, a Pensacola LEO pulls up right beside me in the middle lane, rolls down his window and drawls, “Any trouble here?” Three more cruisers pull up quickly. They get her out of my car and ask me to pull over to the Viet Hoa Food Market’s parking lot to the right. I start shaking.

I look out at them, standing around writing up a report and making sure she is okay. Stang lady is giving evidence (thanks for sticking around, whoever you are!). And all the cops are all chucking.

Miraculously, she didn’t have a scratch on her; she is high as a kite. No reflexes. I take control of my breathing and get out, leaning against my car. It is bent and dented all over the pace. Even her blue sweats are imprinted on my bumper. I was going the speed limit, so I’d hit her pretty hard.

Still chuckling, two officers walk over to me to get my info. One addresses me, “Ma’am, we are writing her up for violation of right of way. Her john was chasing her down the street because he thought she had taken his driver’s license in the pack of cigarettes that she stole from him. He was behind her when she darted out into traffic and apparently struck your car. A bus is coming to check her out, but she seems to be ok.”

Umm. Okay. Wow. She ended up having the same first name as me and the same birth date as me (not same year, but still). No joke.

Several days later, I am sitting in the office of the body shop on the phone with my insurance agent, trying to explain the details of the incident and order the repairs to be done. So awkward.

What an unforgettable experience! I still pray for Mary as I think of what happened and retell the story, and hope she is on a better path of life!


Leave a comment